top of page

Hi, thanks for checking in. I am Shashidhar Gurumurthy (Shashi). This is me on one of the beautiful early morning sunrises during my solo cycling trip from Bangalore to Mumbai in Dec 2021. 

I believe in the goodness of the people around the world and hope to see and experience it for myself first hand.


Born in Mysore, India, I spent my early years in Ghaziabad, Uttar Pradesh. Came back to Mysore for my undergraduate degree in engineering. During these 4 years in Mysore, I had a regular Indian cycle and used it to get to college and also all around the city. However, didn't cycle beyond Mandya.


After college, traveled to different places for work, got married, started a family, raised two beautiful kids, and settled in Bangalore in 2004. A few years later in 2010, I started cycling as a hobby again and started joining various supported rides such as Tour of Nilgiris and Cycling and More rides. I started exploring self-supported solo rides and cycled from Bangalore to Goa, Chennai, Mangalore, and Mumbai. I cycled from Kolkata to Agartala crossing the breadth of Bangladesh in Feb 2020 and this was my first experience crossing an international border on a cycle.


I turned 50 in March 2022 and got this wild thought about planning and executing a cycling tour from Bangalore to the sites of the next 3 Summer Olympics - Paris, Los Angeles, and Brisbane. I would turn 60 in 2032. The idea is to start cycling a few months before each Olympics and be there for the opening ceremony - hopefully, join the Indian contingent at each of these events. A lot of factors go into making something like this successful. Huge support from a lot of people and organizations and a lot of planning will be key to me achieving this goal. Hence, this dedicated site to start planning from now and solicit support from people across the world.

bottom of page